Revealing my Drawers of Knitting Disasters

Stored away in our 2nd bedroom are the remnants of unwanted knitting.
image

Inside this beautiful dresser that my husband and I bought for 5 dollars at auction (then distressed ourselves) are 4 drawers full of hand-knit items. I don’t recall how I decided to store them here, but it seems rather fitting they’ve been relegated into the unused dresser in the unused room. None of them have a proper home. They are the foster children of knits.

image

Many were made originally to be gifts, but for one reason or another never made it to the intended recipient.

So, what’s in drawer one?

image

This first drawer has items from my first year I was knitting as an adult (I had learned the basics first as a young girl). The matching tam & scarf (both on the left) are made out of a super soft acrylic yarn and was originally intended (I believe) as a Christmas gift for my sister. The problem: the hat is too small. Not too tight, just too short. I didn’t have enough yarn to make the whole pattern as written (because these are not the sort of things I bothered to check before diving into a project) so I made it short, not once considering the fact a too-short hat was not, in fact, better than no hat at all. I did purchase & knit in an elastic thread to the brim to help keep it from falling off. It really doesn’t help.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the matching scarf. It’s only crime is that it matches a useless hat. And for some reason I don’t want to separate the two. I guess I thought that would be admitting defeat on that hat.

The second scarf (on the right) is a solid tan cabled scarf made from 100% wool. It was my first attempt at cabling. Despite a few minor issues with some cable sections made a tad bigger than others (you’d really have to look close to see), it was a pretty big success! What I loved most was that the ends seam up to create little pockets for your hands. So why is it in a drawer for rejects? The problem: it curves up all along the sides. Experienced knitters may be wondering why blocking didn’t fix it. Well, I never blocked it. I didn’t know about blocking back then. I’m sure it was mentioned in the pattern, but patterns-shmatters! I just wanted to knit to a finished project and I wasn’t going to be slowed down by blocking, ensuring I had enough yardage and especially gauge swatches! (Which that horror story involves my first ever sweater attempt)

It’s good to make mistakes. And it’s good to stil have those mistakes to look at again. To learn from. I’m a much better knitter today, but it’s because failures teach great lessons. I was not born with ample loads of patience and I hate taking the time to do things like read instructions. But over the years, knitting has taught me – if it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right. And I continue to learn this lesson, one knitting disaster at a time.

*I had actually intended to write about the contents of all four drawers in this one post, but I didn’t expect I’d end up having so much to write about one drawer! Abd baby’s naptime is just about over.

Leave a Reply

